Home » Infrastructure » Windows » Installing Oracle 11g Standard with prior XE Installation (Oracle 11g, Windows 7 64)
Installing Oracle 11g Standard with prior XE Installation [message #601943] Wed, 27 November 2013 10:48 Go to next message
zarpendorff
Hi there,

this is my first post here and I am not sure at all, whether I am asking my question in the correct forum and whether it has been asked before. I have googled for a while, but I did not find anything that I could understand and that helped me at the same time. I have to say that I am very new to this whole Oracle topic and that my knowledge tends to zero. So I appologize in advance. I also have to point out that I installed Oracle in german...

However, I want to describe my problem:

I have been using a really simple DB that I set up with Oracle XE on my local machine. Now, I downloaded and installed Oracle 11g Standard Edition ("software only" / no DB yet). Somehow, it does not work. Maybe, it has something to do with these two versions getting into a conflict with each other. I have disabled the OracleXE services, so now, when I start Windows, I have one process called "Oracle" (using ~300MB RAM). This seems to be the only service that has something to do with Oracle. I had to set the environment variables ORACLE_HOME and ORACLE_SID manually in order to even start the TNS-Listener (recall: I have no idea what the TNS-Listener actually does) successfully via command-line.

When I finally try to run "sqlplus "/as sysdba"", I get the error "ORA-12560". I really do not know how to describe it any better. Therefore, I just copied the content of a few files:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -----------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -----------------------------
Error Message: